Medvezhegorsk municipal museum

Region
City / settlement Medvezhegorsk

The museum was founded in 1962 by a history teacher of boarding school #4 V. Ershov. During the hikes around the region the first exhibits of the museum have been found: household stuff, icons, embroidery, clothing of the citizens of Zaonezhje, Segozerje and Vygoretsia villages. Since 1991 the museum has a status of a municipal one.

The museum is located in a historical building of the former hotel, which was built in 1935. The building is an architectural monument of the 30-ies and is protected by the government. The building of the museum is located on the main highway of "Blue Road" route Petrozavodsk – Pudozh – Kargopol, in the central part of the city on Kirov Square. This makes it possible both for tourists travelling on their own and for tourist groups to visit the museum. There is a branch of the museum, which is called "Sandarmokh" and must soon become a separate museum.

The collections of the museum:

  • archeological collection,
  • ethnographic collection,
  • photography collection,
  • paintings collection.

 

The unique exhibits of the museum are wooden articles, embroidery, wood engraving (spinning-wheels, lockers and shaft-bows), copper castings (icons, crosses), icons from the chutches of Zaonezhje and Segozerje.

By the high tourist season a trade exhibition "With love from Medvezhjegorsk" is organized every year. The production of local fabrics (gems and stone articles), drawings, icons, postal and souvenir production about the region and the city is presented here.

The museum also takes part in the following holidays:

  • Annual trade fair in the village of Shunga (July),
  • Memorial Day in Sandarmokh (the first Sunday in August),
  • Memorial Day in the village of Padany (partisan detachment).

 

Address: 22, Dzerzhinskogo Str.
Phone: (814-34) 2-42-32

Rambler's Top100 Яндекс.Метрика